Let’s Start Programming! Forums CATIA Macro Programming Delete Geometrical set and Pockets

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Dani 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Dani
    Participant

Hello everybody,
    I am completely new in catia macros. I have a problem that I think is very simple but i don t know how to fix that. I want to write macro that delete all “Pocket”s and the “Geometrical Set”s from a design tree in catia v5. It seems to me that this is a very simple case but I have no idea how to do that. I would appreciate if you help me.
    Thank you.

Emmett Ross
    Keymaster

Hi Dani. Glad to see you are trying to get into the world of macros and automation! I highly recommend you join my free email course for a quick introduction to macros here: http://www.scripting4v5.com/newsletter/
    It should be pretty straight forward to find and delete all pocket features. Join the course, give the macro a try, then let us know where you get stuck and we’ll help you out!
    -Emmett

Dani
    Participant

Thank you Emmett, This is my macro that unfortunately didn’t work.

Sub CATMain()

Dim partDocument1 As PartDocument Set partDocument1 = CATIA.ActiveDocument

Set selection1 = partDocument1.Selection selection1.Search “Name=HybridBody, all” selection1.Delete

Set selection2 = partDocument1.Selection selection2.Search “Name=Pocket, all” selection2.Delete

End Sub

Matt
    Participant

It is very helpful to include any error messages and the line the macro failed on.

‘Hopefully you only have a part open or the macro will fail on setting partDocument1
    Dim partDocument1 As PartDocument
    Set partDocument1 = CATIA.ActiveDocument

‘You used Name=HybridBody…Name is the actual name of the feature. You want to use Type.
    Set selection1 = partDocument1.Selection
    selection1.Search “Type=HybridBody, all”

‘What if there are no geosets in the part? Your Delete method will fail